Why I Blog…

“No problem can withstand the assault of sustained thinking.” By Voltaire

I often get asked, “Why do you blog?” and my answer is because I like to help other educators while also reflecting on my own learning.  I started blogging in 2011 and over the last few months I have been starting to wonder, ‘should I keep blogging?’

Blogging takes a lot of time, dedication and I have been doing it for over five years. I started wondered if I should be putting that time into something else. I decided to go back to my roots, look at my vision and think about what have I gained through my blogging experience.

Original Vision: To collaborate with educators to make a difference in education through improving methods and reflecting. I want to seek new perspectives, take risks and continue to pursue my passions of curriculum and instruction, technology and 21st century learning.

Upon reflection I decided I have met my vision and I have also gained:

  1. Meeting amazing people that I have collaborated with on projects such as with Dr. Will, along with other guest bloggers like Kenny McKee.
  2. Gained new ideas from readers through the comments
  3. It has made me a more creative thinker
  4. It has also held me accountable to practice what I preach: Share your knowledge, don’t keep it to yourself, help better others!
  5. It has been a “professional learning” experience for myself. When I don’t have a topic in mind, I find myself reading other blogs, tweets etc that spark my thinking or force me to learn something new that I might have put off with ‘I don’t have time for that’.
  6. I have over 6,750 followers and my thought process was, even if one of my readers changes their teaching craft, that is making a difference in education, right? Then last week I received an email from a friend that said: “You continue to have such an influence. This is from an elementary school principal who used your blog post to generate conversation. Thought you would like to read their comments.”

The Principal wrote:

I shared another blog post (Getting Started with Personalized Learning by Jill Thompson) with my staff to spark an electronic reflective conversation.
Here are some of their thoughts and my insights on where we are in our journey.
My take: nervous but realizing they are doing it and generating more excitement/momentum!

I read each and every one of the teachers responses, which were all very thought provoking. I believe everything happens for a reason and this email solidified that I need to keep blogging, not only for myself, but to help inspire others!

 

Leave a Reply

