“Don’t confuse having a career with having a life.” by Hillary Clinton

With the holidays around the corner it is important to remember to self check your work- life balance. Over the years I have gotten better with my work-life balance. I am one of the lucky ones that truly enjoys my job but still needs to remind myself that work will always be there and never truely complete no matter how many hours I work. Here are some tips and tricks that I have learned over the years to help:

  1. Drop Activities/Tasks that Don’t Add Value: Ask yourself, “What is the end goal of this task, will it add value?” Sometimes we do things in our job or our personal lives because we have ‘always done it this way’. Reevaluate some of your activities and tasks to see if you can ‘gain’ time. I do this, every six months or so.
  2. Unplug: Set times when you will not look at work and/or technology and be in the moment. Examples: no technology at dinner, no work after 6:00 or no work until the kids are in bed. Do what works for your lifestyle but make a point to have set times. It also helped me when I took my work email off my personal phone. Sometimes I will do unplugged weekends and I find a lot of my best ideas come during those times!
  3. Exercise: It sometimes is hard to include this one into the mix but even if you walk for 20 minutes the benefits do wonders for you.
  4.  Learn to say NO: This is by far the hardest and something I am continually working on. This also doesn’t mean saying no just to work things but also personal. If you don’t want to go to an event or party, it is okay to say no. Sometimes I am asked to do ‘extras’ because I don’t have kids. This was confusing to me because not having kids, does not equate to, not having a life. Reminding myself this concept helped me say no.
  5. Don’t Worry about Others: If you work complete X amount of hours a week and complete your work while producing stuff you are proud of, who cares if Johnny or Sally works 50 hours. Maybe they aren’t getting their work done or using their time wisely, that has nothing to do with you. Also remember what others think about you has nothing to do with you and everything to do with themselves.
  6. Happiness is a choice: Do what makes you happy!  John Lennon once said, “Time you enjoy wasting is not wasted time.”

With all this being said, for the next two weeks, I will not be blogging. I am going to take the time to unplug and enjoy the holidays with family and friends. I hope you do as well!

More information about Work-Life Balance:

Work-Life Balance Information

Work-Life Balance Site

“When you’re gone would you rather have your gravestone say, ‘He never missed a meeting?” Or one that said, ‘He was a great father.’” by  Steve Blank.

Leave a Reply

