Identity Day

“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths.” By Walt Disney

I am always reading, looking at twitter and being a connected educator to learn from others. This week I learned about Identity Day from George Couros and I don’t know how I missed it but it is an awesome idea!

Identity Day is day dedicated to students/teachers interests that they want to share. The students (and teachers too) create a project on themselves but there is no criteria, no grade and no set topic. It is then set up like a ‘science fair’ or museum where people can go and read/talk to others.

Sound similar to Genius Hour? I thought so too but there is two distinct differences.

  1. Students/Teachers are doing a project on themselves and what they are interested in. For example: I might do a project on my favorite author because I like to read or on Yoga as that is a hobby I enjoy verse something on education because that is my passion.
  2. It is school wide and includes teachers. This builds community and culture within the school allowing students to learn about others and their teachers outside of the typical school day topics.

It was great reading on Twitter how so many teachers learned a lot of new things about their students that they wouldn’t of typically learned about in a regular school day. Here are some Identity Day resources to get it started at your school:

A Week by Week Guide to Creating a Successful Identity Day Livebinder

Their First 15 Minutes; Identity Day

Identity Day 2012

Identity Day Prezi

I would love to hear if you have implemented Identity Day and your thoughts on it! Please share in the comment section so we can all learn from each other.

Comments on: "Identity Day" (2)

  1. […] of the blogs I caught up on was from Inside the Classroom, Outside the Box on Identity Day.  Considering how much I absorb when I am relaxed enough, have time enough, have […]

Leave a Reply

