“Move out of your comfort zone. You can only grow if you are willing to feel awkward and uncomfortable when you try something new.” By Brian Tracy

It is hard to believe it has been four years since I started this blog. My first blog post was about my vision which was, “To collaborate with educators to make a difference in education through improving methods and reflecting. I want to seek new perspectives, take risks and continue to pursue my passions of curriculum and instruction, technology and 21st century learning.” This vision still holds true!

Here are the three biggest lessons I have learned through my blogging experience. When I first started blogging…

  1. I did it to help me reflect as an educator in order to improve my craft. Lesson learned: There are many reflective practices. I realized over the years there are different types of reflective thinking such as situational and dialectical. Blogging has helped me improve all of these ways and has been a great lesson that has improved my teaching practice. To learn more about these reflective practices read: Fostering Reflection by Lana M Danielson
  2. I was worried about if I was going to have something to write about each week and were people going to care what I had to say. Lesson learned: Be yourself. I first realized that what I go through and/or  think about is the same as other educators and if it is not then maybe it will help someone learn something new. The second lesson was my best ideas/blogs typically were not generated from sitting in front of a computer on Sunday mornings but it was from the experience in the classroom, interactions with others etc. I know have a blog note and through-out the week I find myself saying ‘this might be a good blog post’ and I jot it down. Some of the ideas make great blog posts while others are still marinating and/or might never become blog posts and that’s okay.
  3. I didn’t realize how much I would learn from my readers. Lesson learned: The importance of making connections. My readers have provided thought-provoking comments, amazing sites to add to my toolkit of resources along with awesome ideas to further my practice.

I look forward to many more years of learning and growing with all of you!

Leave a Reply

