“Tomorrow, is the first blank page of a 365 page book. Write a good one.” Brad Paisley

Each year I make New Year’s Resolutions, but I also think it is just as important to reflect on your past resolutions in order to create your new ones. Today I reflected on 2014 resolutions and create new ones for 2015 that are really evolutions.

2014’s with reflections:

1. To focus on helping teachers make an intentional shift to personalized learning. It is a challenging fundamental change to learning and teaching and I want to make it easier for educators. Helping them realize technology is an important enabler but the devices we use are just one tool for delivering this instruction… I would give my self a B. I have tried really hard but I have a long way to go. This resolution will be added to my 2015! 

2. Help schools become more innovative. For example, helping more schools create makerspaces and coding clubs. I would give myself an B+. I have worked with many schools to help them be more  innovative from adding makerspaces to adding Genius Hour into the school day. I also joined the Imagination Chapter for Charlotte which builds upon students creativity. (I will blog more about this soon.)

3. Continue to learn and challenge myself. Half of the things I accomplished in 2014 were not part  of my goals/resolution, but because I wanted to challenge myself and continue to learn. I have to give myself a A-. I somehow naturally do this which I like as it comes natural to me. I am always curious. I completed two MOOCs and became Google Apps Certified.

My 2015’s Resolutions are not so much resolutions but evolutions as I want to continue to be more evolved in my practice/craft.

1.  Continue focusing on helping teachers make an intentional shift to personalized learning (PL). I will be blogging more about PL. I think it is important to help educators understand the why, then making small-doable action steps and seeing the results.

2. Continue to challenge myself. I am not sure how or what I will do this year but I always do as I love to learn. Getting my doctorate has been floating in the back of my head, maybe this is the year I will start it or at least decide what I want to get it in. 😉

3. Continue to work on balancing work and life. I have started becoming better at this as I think some of it has to do with aging/maturing while the other is being more purposeful through making better decisions. (The articles below are great reads to help with balance)

Here are a few other educators new years resolution that I also enjoyed:

New Year New You

Top 12 New Year’s Resolutions for Teachers

These two links below are not educators resolutions but are my favorite New Year’s Resolution articles this year:

New Year’s Resolution Remix: 15 Things To Stop Doing In 2015

15 Ways to Live a Year with No Regrets

Happy New Year Everyone!

Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

