“Learning is not attained by chance. It must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence.” By Abigail Adams

On June 6th, #edcampUSA took place in Washington, DC at the Department of Education. I’m sure like me most of us couldn’t attend as I was busy working but that didn’t stop me from learning from it as I read the archives later. Below are my three takeaways from #edcampUSA from the tweets and Gdocs of the participants.

1. Voxer is a walkie-talkie like app where you can hold discussions with many people. It is great to hear voices of people you have been tweeting with. Voxer can be used many different ways in the classroom and in education. Check out the list that was started at a session during #edcampUSA. I have joined many voxer chats in the past few days such as an ASCD Emerging Leader one where we are discussing the importance of education needing to change. I am also excited to do a book study using this app this summer as well. My voxer id is: jthomp56629

2. Our schools, more than ever, need to be redesigned to fit the learners needs. You can tell from the #edcampUSA session board as 4 of the 20 topics were about it. We need to change our classroom and libraries to include spaces such as makerspaces. You would think this is an easy fix but I have learned that there are a lot of furniture regulations from not only districts but the state as well but this is a topic that needs to continue to be pursued. I know I will continue to try to push the envelope.

3. We are the change makers! Edcamp was started four years ago by a group of educators and now look at what has happened. Professional development is changing, educators are becoming more connected and issues that were not always discussed are being talked about. Together change can happen!

Other articles and blogs from #edcampUSA I liked:

The Positive Power of #Edcamp Hits The US Department of Education

#edcampuse Tagboard

How EdCamps Break the Rules of Professional Development

Tom Murray: 5 Take aways for #edcampUSA

Leave a Reply

