“No matter what accomplishments you make, somebody helped you.” By Althea Gibson

About two 1/2 months ago, I wrote about ‘Bettering Myself: My Summer Goals‘ and today I have decided to reflect on where I am in the process as summer is almost over. (Even though for me I am 12 months – I have no summer 🙂

My first goal was to attend an educational conference to better my practice! I attended 2 plus Edulum’s is later this week. It is hard to believe we are less than a week away from an amazing event— Edulum’s First Annual Education Conference: Engage, Enrich and Empower! It is Friday, Aug 2nd, 2013 from 8:30 am – 4:00 pm.  If you have not registered, click here as it is only $30.00. If you haven’t asked your school to see if they will pay for you, it can’t hurt to ask.  NC Teacher of the Year is our keynote followed by amazing sessions.  We will be using the hashtag #edulum13 and @edulumllc will be Tweeting out as well. Like us on Facebook by clicking here to get great education best practice ideas, involved in book study groups and collaboration with other educators.

My second goal was to complete at least one Massive Open Online Course (MOOC). I have not finished but have been learning to code by using Codecademy. I have already helped build a website and put my coding skills to the test and have learned, even with a MOOC as a guidebook, you still need to explore and learn on your own.

My third goal was to read! For my fun read I read Fly Away by Kristen Hannah and my educational read was Teach Like a Pirate (TLAP). (Review blog post coming soon after Edulum’s virtual book club is over) If you haven’t read TLAP, it is a must quick read! I have also read lots of articles and  blog posts.

My forth goal was to  write an article or a guest blog post or both! I have started an article for IGI Global that I hope gets published and if not, at least I tried. I have also asked to be a guest blogger on Ed Tech Review and that will be coming out soon. This goal also got me thinking about how I would like to also have guest bloggers on my blog so in a few weeks you will see the first guest bloggers post! If you are interested in submitting a guest blog post fill out the form on the right hand side. I would love to have more teacher voice!

My fifth goal was work on balancing work and life. I feel like I have done a much better job at this but the real test will be when the teachers go back to school. 🙂

My sixth goal was personal goals and I have not done as good of job as doing what I said I would do but I did clean our spare bedroom that has become a dumping ground and I have worked out more just not 5 days a week.  I did find that listening to podcasts like Ted talks or NPR helps make the gym time go by much faster! (I know, I am a nerd) I have also really enjoyed my nightly walks with my husband (when it is not raining.) I will be going on a mini vacation in a few weeks for my brothers wedding, which will be a great time with family and friends.

Have you met your summer goals, if not there is still time!

Leave a Reply

