Edu Summer Reading

“Get over the idea that only children should spend their time in study.  Be a student so long as you still have something to learn, and this will mean all your life.”  ~Henry L. Doherty

With the school year coming to a close and my survey data coming in I have started making me book list for my summer reading PD. In the summer, I alternate ‘non-educational’ reading along with my educational books. I start to think about things I want to work on (hence using my survey data; see last weeks post) and things I want to learn more about to better my practice. I try to pick 5 books, this year my book list is…

1. Opening Minds: Using Language to Change Lives by Peter H. Johnston. This book is for k-8 educators about how words can shape students learning and their developement.  I chose this book because it’s good reminder about a best practice we tend to forget with new standards and ideas always coming and going in education. (CMS teachers, this will be our first summer book in our Yammer Teacher Book Club, more details in Yammer.)

2. Science Matters: Achieving Scintific Literacy by Robert M. Hazen and James Trefil. This book is for k-12 educators that want to break down science concepts so it is simple. A friend recommended this book telling me it helps explain hard science concepts so teachers can understand them and do a better job explaining the concepts to the students. I chose this books so I can better coach teachers in science concepts during planning sessions and professional development.

3. My Kids Can: Making Math Accessible to All Learners k-5 edited by Judy Storeygard. This book is for k-5 educators who teach math. I chose it as a must read as I wanted to learn more about how to close the gap for our struggling math students and learn about more instructional strategies for the RTI process.

4. Teaching as Leadership: The Highly Effective Teacher’s Guide to Closing the Acievment Gap by Steven Farr. This book’s title says it all and I chose to read it because I want to help our school close our achievement gaps after analyzing our schools data this past week. I think after reading this I will be able to better understand how I can coach teachers to also make this their goal.

5. What School Leaders Need to Know about Digital Technologies and Social Media by Chris Lehmann. With technology ever changing and now entering classrooms at a great speed, I feel this is a most read as being a technology leader for our school.

Of course my list is longer than that but if I get through these 5 this summer, I will be happy! Here are 5 educational books I have read in the past and feel are most reads if you haven’t for your summer reading list!

1.  Never Work Harder Than Your Students & Other Principles of Great Teaching by Robyn Renee Jackson. This book by far is my favorite educational book that I have read so far and I read it a few years ago!

2. Classroom Discussions: Using Math Talk to Help Students Learn by Suzanne H. Chapin, Catherine O’Connor, Nancy Canavan Anderson.

3. What’s Math Got to Do with It?: Helping Children Learn to Love Their Least Favorite Subject–and Why It’s Important for America by Jo Boaler.

4. 21st Century Skills: Learning for Life in Our Times by Bernie Trilling, Charles Fadel.

5. Strategies That Work: Teaching Comprehension for Understanding and Engagement by Stephanie Harvey, Anne Goudvis

I would love to add to my reading list so please share your favorite educational book in the comments.

Comments on: "Edu Summer Reading" (1)

  1. […] or mistakes as a motivation to keep learning. As I was reading from my summer reading list (see previous post), Opening Minds Using Language to Change Lives by Johnson,  I made the connection how we need to […]

Leave a Reply

