“A teacher affects eternity; he can never tell where his influence stops.”  By Henry Adams

With Teacher Appreciate Week coming to a close, I thought about how lucky I am to have a job that I LOVE. It is my passion to teach and I couldn’t imagine doing anything else. It hasn’t been easy (and there are always bumps) but I wake up every morning excited about my job! Not many people can say that! Here are my top 5 reasons I love being an educator.

5. You get to where many hats! I am not just a teacher but a leader, nurse, mentor, mediator and so much more. Each hour, and sometimes each minute, brings a different hat that makes you have to think on your feet and keep you on your toes.

4. The schedule; not because we have summers ‘off’ or get out at 3:00 because as educators we know that doesn’t really happen. I love the schedule that each part of my day is broken up and I am never doing the same thing over and over like many other jobs. It is constantly changing and different so it is never boring. I am teaching math, science, reading and writing and even if I am departmentalized I am still teaching different activities to different groups of students. No two days are ever the same!

3. The work environment is a positive place. Educators obviously are not in it for the money or just a pay check; they are in the profession because they care so it is often easy to find common ground and to work together. I also love the school environment because I am not working behind a desk in a cubicle. I am interacting with adults and children and always on the go. Sometimes my ‘office’ is in the regular classroom, while other times it is outside or in the cafeteria.

2. Being a life long learner. I’m always continuing to learn with the students and on my own. The students teach me something new everyday and I never know what it is going to be. Taking professional development to better my practice not only helps me but my students and colleagues as well.

1. The student’s of course are the number one reason. When you have that teachable moment or when you witness the ‘light bulb’ going off, there is no feeling that can replace joy and accomplishment! We mold the future, we are making a difference and not many people can say they do that everyday! The children we teach today are the future of the world; their goals and beliefs are taken from what we provide for them!

I know I didn’t cover all the reasons why being an educator is great; so what are some of the reasons why you love being an educator.

We don’t get appreciated enough so, THANK YOU to all the fabulous educators out there! Happy Teacher Appreciation Week!

Leave a Reply

