“Cheers to a new year and another chance for us to get it right.”  by Oprah Winfrey

A New Year’s resolution is a goal a person sets to achieve within the upcoming year. We usually hear about New Year’s resolutions such as losing weight and quitting smoking. It may seem impractical to be making goals in the middle of the school year for the ‘New Year’, but I believe that continuing to reflect and making your self a better educator can never be a bad thing. I think the key point many people miss about making resolutions is they don’t reflect about HOW they are going to accomplish the goal. Below are my 2012 New Year’s Resolutions along with how I plan on accomplishing them.

1. I want to continue to learn about the most current technology and guide teachers on how they can use technology in the classroom to create a more personalized learning path for students. I plan on doing this by attending Professional Developments, webinars and continuing to develop my PLN. I also want to be able to share my findings with others.

2. I want to be persistent about reading, learning and sharing regarding education in terms of curriculum development. I plan on doing this by reading more educational book and articles and sharing with not only my schools grade levels but also my district through different communication methods such as Yammer and blogging.

3. I want to create more Problem Based Learning (PBL) Projects. The few I have created the students have really enjoyed and I have seen a difference in the quality of work. I am no expert when it comes to creating these types of lessons so I do want to learn more about PBL’s through websites, books and from peers.

If you have any suggestions of sites, books etc. to help me complete my New Year’s resolutions please do share. I enjoy reading your comments and emails. I also would love to hear what your New Years resolutions are as well. As you make your New Year’s resolution, don’t forget to think about how you are going to accomplish the goals.

I hope you have a happy, healthy and successful New Year!

Comments on: "My 2012 EDU New Year’s Resolutions" (1)

  1. […] I reflect and review my 2012, Education New Year’s Resolution goals blog post, I am proud I have accomplished all of them. I am excited to think about what 2013 will bring. […]

Leave a Reply

