“Coming together is a beginning, staying together is progress, and working together is success.” Henry Ford

About six months ago I was introduced to Twitter by @technology_tim. I had been always under the impress that Twitter was for celebrities’ and their fans. Who really cared about what Justin Bieber was doing? But after talking with Tim, he inspired me to at least give it a try and I am so glad I did; Twitter has changed my teaching life. Here are my top 3 reasons how….

1. Chats: There is so much out there on the internet that it used to take me hours to find sites that were really good or that fit my classroom wants and/or needs. But on twitter chats, everyone shares their resources and ideas that have worked for them resulting in saving me time. It also helps me reflect on my teaching practices. For example, I along with another teacher, started kid-blogging with our math class to integrate more writing in math this year. We thought it was going well but when I chatted on last weeks twitter @5thchat I learned so many more ways/ideas to make the blog experience even better for our students. We have become researches to what works or doesn’t work in the classroom based on experience.

2. Followers/Following: Twitter introducing me to the most amazing teachers who I never would have met if it wasn’t for this social site! It is great to see what other teachers are trying and exploring in their classrooms. They are the best Personal Learning Network (PLN) I could ask for! Following them truly is a pleasure. How this is different from chats is that chats are on one topic a week verses the people I follow post tweets of articles and topics they have found interesting. I only follow people that have the same passion for education as I do. I as well, post articles and ideas that I think is worth reading/exploring.

3. Global Learning: On Twitter everyone is from different places around the world not just your district or state. This gives you different perspectives on education. Twitter helps you learn how to communicate and collaborate in multicultural setting with other educators. (Which is also what we want our students to be learning to do as 21st century learners, so shouldn’t we be modeling this ourselves?) Twitter allows for open conversations about different cultures outlooks on educational news, classrooms resources etc. I have learned so much about “flipped classroom” through the educators I follow from Australia, as they have been doing this for awhile and know what is working and what is not.

Twitter can be used as a powerful tool to build your PLN, promote your ideas and/or raise awareness of different topics globally. I hope with this blog post more educators will jump on the bandwagon and share their ideas. Don’t forget to follow me @Edu_Thompson.

Leave a Reply

